Recently, I sat down with the Resident Evil 4 Remake. I didn’t get to spend too long with the game, but I did find myself getting up close and personal with the chainsaw man again. Stepping into that Spanish village all over again, watching Los Ganados pledge their lives to Los Illuminados, I knew it was a matter of time before I came face to face with one of the many chainsaw men. I was right, and in the same way that Leon Kennedy looks even more handsome in this remake, the chainsaw man I met up with is a lot more terrifying. What once appeared as a man with a straw bag concealing his face, now looks more like a monster of sorts. He still shares similarities with his counterparts, villagers infected by the mind-controlling parasite that is Las Plagas, donning the standard villager outfit we’d expect. However, pot-bellied chainsaw men are a thing of the past here, and I still can’t forget those beady eyes. Almost as if straight out of a slasher flick, this potato sack seems fused to the chainsaw man’s face; his eyes peek out red, beady, and in a way, hungry. While fleeing a chainsaw man previously felt like running away from another villager who happened to be stronger from the rest, it now feels like you’re fleeing a damned entity. And when this chainsaw man gets his hands on you, it’s game over (unless you’re well adjusted to using Leon’s new knife), but this isn’t a bad thing. Being slaughtered by chainsaw man makes for quite the murder dessert in the Resident Evil 4 Remake, and has me excited to see what other enemies (namely the Chainsaw Sisters) will look like further down the line.

Resident Evil 4 Remake has made the chainsaw man even more terrifying - 63